Penmen Claim Three Major Men’s Soccer Awards Led by NE-10 Player of the Year Sofiane Tergou

Penmen Claim Three Major Men’s Soccer Awards Led by NE-10 Player of the Year Sofiane Tergou


November 5, 2015

NE-10 Announces Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams and Award Winners

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Three Southern New Hampshire men's soccer student-athletes have claimed major awards led by NE-10 Player of the Year Sofiane Tergou, as the Northeast-10 released its all-conference teams and award winners on Thursday.

In addition to Tergou, the three-time defending NE-10 Champion Penmen had the league's Defensive Player of the Year in Dominic Samuel, as well as the Goalkeeper of the Year in Nick Zucco.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Tergou led the Penmen, ranked in the top-5 in the country all season long, to their third-straight regular season conference title. Helping Southern New Hampshire to a 12-1 mark in conference play, Tergou ended the regular season with the second-most assists in the league (10) along with six goals for 22 points, including a pair of game-winners.

Samuel guided the Southern New Hampshire defense, which allowed the fewest goals in the NE-10 this season, while he scored six goals to include one game-winner. Zucco gave up just eight goals this season to post the lowest goals-against average in the conference in addition to being among the league's best in save percentage, wins and shutouts.

Adelphi's James Thristino garnered NE-10 Rookie of the Year honors after helping the Panthers to a 9-2-2 mark in conference play this season. Thristino concluded regular season play with the second-most goals (6), points (13) and game-winners (2) on Adelphi's roster.

Bentley's Gary Crompton was chosen as the Northeast-10 Coach of the Year after guiding the Falcons to the No. 4 seed in the NE-10 Championship just a season removed from missing the conference tournament entirely. Under Crompton's watch, Bentley went 8-4-1 in conference play this season, winning three more NE-10 games than it did in 2014-15.

Southern New Hampshire had the most all-conference selections (9) and first-team choices (4), as well as two more on the all-rookie team for 11 honorees in total. Southern Connecticut was next with seven honorees, while Adelphi and Merrimack each had six total selections. Saint Rose had one honoree on all four teams after its best season in recent history.

2015 Northeast-10 Men's Soccer All-Conference
First Team
Federico DeOliviera, M, Adelphi
Caelan Hueber, F, Adelphi
Alejandro Penzini, D, Adelphi
Dave Magee, M, Franklin Pierce
Cal Filtch, M, Le Moyne
Joseph Briers, D, Merrimack
Augusto Silva, F, Merrimack
Romaine Williamson, F, Saint Rose
Louis Greenway-Tambini, F, So. Connecticut
Jonathan Lupinelli, D, So. New Hampshire
Dominic Samuel, D, So. New Hampshire
Sofiane Tergou, M, So. New Hampshire
Nick Zucco, GK, So. New Hampshire 

Second Team
Toni Soler, F, Adelphi
Marius Preber, F, Franklin Pierce
Jack Ball, D, Le Moyne
Jaime Cortes Torres, M, Merrimack
Julio Leon Garcia, D, Merrimack
Juan Meza, M, Merrimack
Stephen Sasso, GK, New Haven
Nathan Brown, D, Saint Rose
Christian Samaniego, M, So. Connecticut
Sebastian Stezewski, F, So. New Hampshire
Jaytoe Teh, D, So. New Hampshire
Adam Branco, F, Stonehill
Drew Montano, M, Stonehill 

Third Team
Emil Thomsen, D, Adelphi
Alec Cerquiera, F, American International
Frazer Cronin, M, American International
Dana King, GK, Assumption
Nick Hoffman, M, Bentley
Scott Levy, F, Bentley
Colby Ajoku, D, Saint Michael's
OJ Rivas, M, Saint Michael's
Marco Pavlin, M, Saint Rose
Sean Black, D, So. Connecticut
Chae Brangman, F, So. Connecticut
Tyler Naef, D, So. Connecticut
Rayane Boukemia, F, So. New Hampshire
Kyle Logan, M, So. New Hampshire
Michael Rowley, F, So. New Hampshire 

All-Rookie Team
James Thristino, M, Adelphi
Alejandro Alvarez, M, American International
Harrison Eden, D, Assumption
Evan Ryan, M, Bentley
Lloyd Ross, M, Franklin Pierce
Jordan Barnett, D, Franklin Pierce
Lars Sund, M, Merrimack
Mawasi Charles, M, New Haven
Stephen Ochan, M, Saint Anselm
Ryan Rooney, F, Saint Rose
Weens Simon, M, So. Connecticut
Sean Black, D, So. Connecticut
Claude Diesse, M, So. New Hampshire
Tyler Bivona, M, So. New Hampshire
Patrick Doherty, Stonehill 

Player of the Year – Sofiane Tergou, So. New Hampshire
Rookie of the Year – James Thristino, Adelphi
Defensive Player of the Year – Dominic Samuel, So. New Hampshire
Goalkeeper of the Year – Nick Zucco, So. New Hampshire
Coach of the Year – Gary Crompton, Bentley 

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.