SNHU's Fernandes Named Player of the Year as the NE10 Announces It's Tennis All-Conference Awards

SNHU's Fernandes Named Player of the Year as the NE10 Announces It's Tennis All-Conference Awards



Regular Season Champion Penmen Lead the Way With Seven First-Team Selections

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Following a perfect 9-0 mark in Northeast-10 Conference singles action, Southern New Hampshire's Tiago Fernandes, pictured, has been named the Vern Cox Men’s Tennis Player of the Year, as the conference office announced its all-conference teams and major award winners for the 2016-17 season.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, please see below.

Fernandes posted a perfect 8-0 mark at top flight singles in conference play, going undefeated against NE10 competition as he was 9-0 overall. The junior was also a First Team All-Conference choice at No. 1 singles, and helped lead the Penmen to the regular season championship for the second straight season.

The junior also combined with teammate Ricardo Marreiros to earn First Team All-Conference laurels at first-flight doubles as well.

Merrimack's Alex Fedorov was selected as the NE10 Rookie of the Year, as voted upon by the league’s head coaches. Fedorov put forth an outstanding first season with the Warriors, going 8-1 at #4 singles against conference opponents this spring. He also earned Second Team All-Conference at No. 4 singles, as well as No. 2 Doubles, as Fedorov partnered with Frank Vega to post an 8-1 mark. He was also named to the NE10 All-Rookie Team.

Southern New Hampshire’s Greg Coache was honored as the NE10 Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season by his peers. He led the Penmen to their second consecutive NE10 Regular Season title after his team posted a perfect 9-0 record in conference play this season. 

Southern New Hampshire had the most student-athletes on the All-Conference First Team with seven overall, while Adelphi, Bentley, Le Moyne and Merrimack were also represented on the First Team selections.

The Vern Cox Player of the Year Award is named in honor of former longtime Springfield College head coach Vern Cox.

2017 NE10 Men’s Tennis All-Conference
First Team
No. 1 Singles – Tiago Fernandes, SNHU
No. 2 Singles – Ricardo Marreiros, SNHU
No. 3 Singles – Nick Majewski, Merrimack
No. 4 Singles – Xavier Aubron, SNHU
No. 5 Singles – Jason Barton, Le Moyne
No. 6 Singles – Kendall Au, Bentley
No. 1 Doubles – Tiago Fernandes / Ricardo Marreiros, SNHU
No. 2 Doubles – Xavier Aubron / Miguel Marreiros, SNHU
No. 3 Doubles – Connor Dove / David Robres de Vecia, Adelphi

Second Team
No. 1 Singles – Matteo Cannavera, Adelphi
No. 2 Singles – Frank Vega, Merrimack
No. 3 Singles – Miguel Marreiros, SNHU
No. 4 Singles – Alex Fedorov, Merrimack
No. 5 Singles – David Robres de Vecia, Adelphi
No. 6 Singles – Tayyab Sheikh, Merrimack
No. 1 Doubles – Mikhail Belov / Nick Majewski, Merrimack
No. 2 Doubles – Frank Vega / Alex Fedorov, Merrimack
No. 3 Doubles – Michael Fuca / Brett Gilman, Bentley

Third Team
No. 1 Singles – Philip Blythe, Le Moyne
No. 2 Singles – Uladzislau Litvinchuk, Adelphi
No. 3 Singles – Roey Heymann, Adelphi
No. 4 Singles – Chase Rosa, Bentley
No. 5 Singles – Michael Fuca, Bentley
No. 6 Singles – Matthew Toombs, Franklin Pierce
No. 1 Doubles – Matteo Cannavera / Uladzislau Litvinchuk, Adelphi
No. 2 Doubles – Jason Barton / Josh Sagaille, Le Moyne
No. 3 Doubles – James Gayvert / Tyler Underwood, Le Moyne 

2017 NE10 All-Rookie Team
David Robres de Vecia, Adelphi
Danny Waung, Assumption
Kendall Au, Bentley
Alex Fedorov, Merrimack
Adam Courtemanche, SNHU
Manu Ravichandrakumar, Stonehill 

Vern Cox Player of the Year: Tiago Fernandes, SNHU
Rookie of the Year: Alex Fedorov, Merrimack 
Coach of the Year: Greg Coache, SNHU

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.