Adelphi, Merrimack Earn Top Seeds for Upcoming NE10 Softball Championship

Adelphi, Merrimack Earn Top Seeds for Upcoming NE10 Softball Championship



MANSFIELD, Mass. - Adelphi and Merrimack won their respective divisions of the Northeast-1- Conference softball regular season titles, and will be the top seeds for the upcoming 2017 Softball Championship which begins with First Round action on Tuesday.

For the full list of the NE10 Championship seedings and schedule of the championship, please see below. 

This year's NE10 Softball Championship Weekend will be hosted by Merrimack as it is the Northeast Division winner's turn to host the event.

The Warriors claimed the top seed out of the Northeast Division with an 18-2 mark in divisional play. The Panthers are the No. 1 seed out of the Southwest Division after posting a 13-5 record in divisional action. 

The first round of the tournament will begin on Tuesday, May 2. 

Saint Anselm and Pace earned the No. 2 seeds and each receives a First Round bye before taking the field on Thursday. Adelphi and Merrimack will both receive double byes and will play in the semifinals on Saturday.

The NE10 Championship game will take place on Saturday, May 6.

2017 NE10 Softball Championship Seeds

Northeast Division
1. Merrimack (18-2)
2. Saint Anselm (15-5)
3. Assumption (13-7)
4. Southern New Hampshire (11-9) 

Southwest Division
1. Adelphi (13-5)
2. Pace (11-7)
3. Le Moyne (10-8) *
4. New Haven (10-8) * 

* Le Moyne earned the #3 seed based on a series sweep (3-0) of New Haven.

2017 NE10 Softball Championship Schedule

Tuesday, May 2nd     

First Round­

Game 1:  #4 Southern New Hampshire at #3 Assumption (3:00 PM)
Game 2:  #4 New Haven at #3 Le Moyne (3:00 PM) 

Thursday, May 4 - Saturday, May 6 

Championship Weekend (to be hosted by Merrimack, #1 seed, Northeast Division)
Thursday, May 4

Game 3:  Game 1 winner vs #2 Pace (12:00 PM)
Game 4:  Game 2 winner vs. #2 Saint Anselm (2:30 PM)

Friday, May 5

Game 5:  Game 3 winner vs. #1 Merrimack (12:00 PM)
Game 6:  Game 4 winner vs. #1 Adelphi (2:30 PM)

Saturday, May 6

Game 7:  Game 5 winner vs Game 6 winner (12:00 PM)

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.