Embrace The Championship: Adelphi, Saint Anselm Earn Top Seeds for Upcoming NE10 Softball Championship

Embrace The Championship: Adelphi, Saint Anselm Earn Top Seeds for Upcoming NE10 Softball Championship



Adelphi to Host 2018 NE10 Championship Weekend

MANSFIELD, Mass. - Adelphi and Pace each claimed a share of the 2018 Northeast-10 Conference Southwest Division Title, while Saint Anselm won the Northeast Division crown. By virtue of their 2-1 series win over the Setters, Adelphi earned the top seed and will also host this year's NE10 Championship Weekend this Thursday through Saturday. It is the Southwest's turn in the league's rotation to host, affording Adelphi the opportunity to host. Two first round games will take place this Tuesday, May 1.

For the full list of the NE10 Championship seedings and schedule of the championship, please see below. 

The Hawks have won 13 straight games heading into the postseason, and are in the midst of the best season in program history as they completed Northeast Divisional play with a mark of 19-2. Adelphi and Pace each posted 14-4 divisional records.

Southern New Hampshire (14-7) and Pace (14-4) earned the No. 2 seeds and each receives a First Round bye before taking the field on Thursday. Adelphi and Saint Anselm will both receive double byes and will play in the semifinals on Friday.

The NE10 Championship game will take place on Saturday, May 5.


2018 NE10 Softball Championship Seeds

Northeast Division
1. Saint Anselm (19-2)
2. Southern New Hampshire (14-7)
3. Merrimack (13-8)
4. Assumption (12-9) 

Southwest Division
1. Adelphi (14-4)*
2. Pace (14-4)*
3. Le Moyne (12-6)
4. New Haven (9-9)  

* Adelphi earned the #1 seed based on a series win (2-1) vs. Pace.

2018 NE10 Softball Championship Schedule

Tuesday, May 1st     

Game 1:  #4 NE Assumption at #3 NE Merrimack | 3:00 PM
Game 2:  #4 SW New Haven at #3 SW Le Moyne | 3:00 PM 

Thursday, May 3rd, Friday, May 4th and Saturday, May 5th   
Championship Weekend (to be hosted by Adelphi, #1 seed, Southwest Division)

Thursday, May 3rd 
Game 3:  Game 1 winner vs. #2 SW Pace | 12:00 PM
Game 4:  Game 2 winner vs. #2 NE Southern New Hampshire | 2:30 PM 

Friday, May 4th  
Game 5:  Game 4 winner vs. #1 SW Adelphi | 12:00 PM
Game 6:  Game 3 winner vs. #1 NE Saint Anselm | 2:30 PM 

Saturday, May 5th  
Game 7:  Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner | 12:00 PM

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.