Adelphi's Martini Becomes First Player in League History to Earn NE10 Player of Year Three Times as Softball Awards are Announced

Adelphi's Martini Becomes First Player in League History to Earn NE10 Player of Year Three Times as Softball Awards are Announced



NE10 Softball All-Conference Members, Award Winners Revealed

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Adelphi's Brenna Martini has accomplished something no softball player in the history of the Northeast-10 Conference has in the history of the league as, today, the senior third basemen was named the Conference Player of the Year for the third straight year. Martini had another banner year in helping lead the Panthers to a Southwest Division title.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Martini, who has now been recognized with a major award in each of her four years at Adelphi as she was the NE10 Rookie of the Year as a freshman, will go down as the most decorated student-athlete in NE10 history. Once again, she put forth another impressive campaign for the Panthers this year, helping Adelphi win the Southwest Division title for the fourth consecutive season.

Martini led the NE10 in home runs (13), walks (27), total bases (106), on base percentage (.483), and slugging percentage (.716). She was also named to the All-Conference First Team for the third conseuctive season.

Merrimack's Megan Cook was selected as the NE10 Pitcher of the Year after a successful season on the mound for the Warriors. Cook completed the regular season with a 23-4 record and a 1.21 earned run average and leads the league in numerous categories in the circle. She currently leads the NE10 in appearances, starts, wins, complete games, shutouts and innings pitched, and is currently second in strikeouts. Cook was also named to the All-Conference First Team for the second straight year.

Alexa DiLeo was tabbed as the conference's Defensive Player of the Year by the league's head coaches. The senior infielder led the Yellow Jackets with a 1.000 fielding percentage and had a team-best 195 putouts on the season.

Pace's Niyah Brown was selected as the league's Rookie of the Year. Brown helped the Setters earn a share of the Southwest Division title by hitting .387, which is currently fourth-best is the league. The infielder is also among the top ten in the NE10 in runs batted in (32), slugging percentage (.642), and triples (4). She was also named a Second Team All-Conference selection.

Saint Anselm's Jill Gagnon was named NE10 Coach of the Year by her peers. Gagnon has helped lead the Hawks to the best season in program history as they won the Northeast Division regular season title, and earned the top seed in the NE10 Championship. Saint Anselm, with a record of 36-9-1 overall heading into this weekend's conference championship action, finished Northeast Divisional play with an impressive 19-2 mark. The Hawks are among the hottest teams in the nation, having won 13 straight games heading into the postseason. Eight of Gagnon's student-athlete were recognized as All-Conference selections.


Player of the Year – Brenna Martini, Adelphi
Pitcher of the Year – Megan Cook, Merrimack
Defensive Player of the Year – Alexa DiLeo, American International
Rookie of the Year – Niyah Brown, Pace
Coach of the Year – Jill Gagnon, Saint Anselm

2018 NE10 Softball All-Conference

First Team
1B – Alyssa Williamson, Merrimack
2B – Nicole Camera, Adelphi
3B – Brenna Martini, Adelphi
SS – Taylor Luzzi, New Haven
C – Megan Murrell, Saint Anselm 
Utility – Jovanna Hillman, New Haven
OF – Krista King, Adelphi
OF – Lauren Zazzaro, Le Moyne
OF – Amanda Bickford, Saint Anselm
DH – Erin Thompson, Saint Anselm
P – Megan Cook, Merrimack
P - Emma Bernet, Pace
At Large – Alexis Eastman, Le Moyne

Second Team
1B – Emily Turney, Adelphi
2B – Niyah Brown, Pace
3B - Erin Garczynski, SNHU
SS – Ryane Brush, Saint Rose
C – Nicoletta Cuccio, Adelphi
Utility – Lauren Sandelier, Adelphi
OF – Stacey Korotsky, Bentley
OF – Kelsey Johnson, Le Moyne
OF – Larissa Labs, Pace
OF - Maggie Murphy, Saint Anselm
DH – Sarah Lavallee, SNHU
P – Morgan Perry, Saint Anselm
At Large – Shay Savageau, SNHU
At Large – Courtney Fisher, Saint Anselm

Third Team
1B – Jordan Wade, SNHU
3B – Michelle Theilgard, Stonehill
SS – Jordan O'Connor, Saint Anselm
C - Jamie Mainez, AIC
Utility – Torie Rathwell, Saint Michael's
OF – Nicole Nanof, Merrimack 
OF – Jordan Chillinsky, Pace
DH – Dana Nicoletti, Saint Rose
P – Maddy Barone, SNHU
At Large – Cyrena Zemaitis, Franklin Pierce 
At Large – Shannon Colson, Saint Anselm 
At Large – Nicole Mengel, Adelphi

All Rookie Team 
-listed alphabetically by school- 
Nicole Mengel, Adelphi
Ally Muller, Adelphi
Cyrena Zemaitis, Franklin Pierce 
Lauren Nichols, Le Moyne
Abby Amato, Merrimack
Jovanna Hillman, New Haven
Niyah Brown, Pace
Courtney Fisher, Saint Anselm
Ryane Brush, Saint Rose
Thalia Santiago, Saint Rose
Shay Savageau, SNHU
Michelle Theilgard, Stonehill
Hannah Ricker, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.