NE10 Announces Swimming and Diving Major Awards

NE10 Announces Swimming and Diving Major Awards



NE10 Swimming and Diving Award Winners Recognized

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference announced its major swimming and diving award winners from the 2016-17 campaign today. The ten honorees represent six of the league's nine instiutions which sponsor the sport currently.

For a complete list of the award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Le Moyne's Travis May was tabbed Male Swimmer of the Year, while Saint Michael's Lindsay McNall earned the honor on the women's side. May was the Swimmer of the Meet at NE10's in February, while McNall competed in two events at the NCAA National Championship meet, earning All-America honors.

Pace's Alexis Heiney and Southern Connecticut's Salim Lemond were honored as the NE10 Divers of the Year. Heiney earned Diver of the Week honors six times during her outstanding campaign, while Lemond qualified for the NCAA Championship. Both were recognized as Divers of the Meet at the NE10 Championships this year.

Assumption's Kelsey Johnstone and Bentley's Daniel Sausto were tabbed as the conference's Rookies of the Year for their efforts in their first years at the collegiate level. Johnstone set a program record in the 200-meter breaststroke and helped the Hounds finish second at the NE10 Championship meet. Sausto earned Bentley's only gold of the NE10 Championship meet as he captured the 1650 yard freestyle. His time of 16:08.64 shattered the school record by more than 26 seconds.

Both Johnstone and Sausto's coaches were honored by their peers following their efforts this season as Assumption's Stuart Cromarty and Bentley's Mary Kay Samko were honored. Cromarty led the Hounds to a second-place finish at the conference championship meet, and helped Shannon Quirk become the first student-athlete in program history qualify for NCAA's. Samko directed the Falcons to an NE10 crown in February. It was the program's second NE10 title, and ended the run of six straight championships claimed by Southern Connecticut. 

Pace's Dylan Korn and Southern Connecticut's Stephen Ettienne were selected as the NE10's Diving Coaches of the 2016-17 season.  Both tutored the conference's top student-athletes in the sport, with Korn having worked with Heiney and Ettienne coaching Lemond.


2016-17 NE10 Swimming & Diving Awards

Men’s Swimmer of the Year - Travis May, Le Moyne
Women’s Swimmer of the Year - Lindsay McNall, Saint Michael's

Men’s Diver of the Year - Salim Lemond, Southern Connecticut
Women’s Diver of the Year - Alexis Heiney, Pace 

Men’s Rookie of the Year - Daniel Sausto, Bentley
Women’s Rookie of the Year - Kelsey Johnstone, Assumption 

Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year - Mary Kay Samko, Bentley
Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year - Stuart Cromarty, Assumption 

Men’s Diving Coach of the Year - Stephen Ettienne, Southern Connecticut
Women’s Diving Coach of the Year - Dylan Korn, Pace

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.