NE-10 Announces 2016 Outdoor Track & Field Award Winners

NE-10 Announces 2016 Outdoor Track & Field Award Winners



June 14, 2016

MANSFIELD, Mass. - The Northeast-10 Conference announced its Outdoor Track & Field major individual award winners this afternoon. This year's award winners came from the track & field programs at American International, Assumption, Merrimack, Southern Connecticut and Stonehill.

For a complete list of award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below. Six of the ten award winners were also tabbed for the award during the 2015-16 NE-10 Indoor Track & Field Season.

Merrimack's Carly Muscaro was selected as the NE-10 Women's Track Athlete of the Year after an outstanding outdoor campaign for the Warriors. She capped off her historic season by winning the 400-meter National Championship at the NCAA Championship meet in May. She also won the indoor national championship in the same event earlier this season. 

American International's Leakey Kipkosgei garnered Men's Track Athlete of the Year once again after earning the award following the indoor season as well. Kipkosgei helped lead the Yellow Jackets to the 2016 NE-10 Men's Outdoor Championship, and capped off his outstanding freshman campaign by finishing third in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the NCAA Championships.

Once again, The NE-10 Men's and Women's Field Athletes of the Year both came from Southern Connecticut as Tresley Dupont and Destiney Coward were tabbed for the hardware by the league's coaches. 

Dupont capped his collegiate career by earning the third All-America honor of his career with an eighth place finish in the hammer throw at the NCAA Championships.  Coward, meanwhile, registered the first All-America honor of her collegiate career at the event as she placed seventh in the hammer throw with a personal best throw of 58.12 meters.

Both won their respective hammer throw events at the NE-10 Championships earlier this spring.

Kipkosgei's teammate, Chad Miller, earned the nod as the NE-10 Men's Track Rookie of the Year, while Stonehill's Olivia Dexter was tabbed as the Women's Track Rookie of the Year.

Miller earned his second All-America award in the 400-meter hurdles, as he finished fourth in the event. He also won the event at the NE-10 Championships. Dexter was a part of the Skyhawks' Championship-winning team at NE-10's this spring. She scored in three events for Stonehill at NE-10's, finishing third in the 100 and 200-meters as well as third in the 4x100-meter relay

Southern Connecticut's Jack Brown earned Men's Outdoor Field Rookie of the Year, while Assumption's Abby Jones was tabbed for the award on the women's side.

Brown, who was named Indoor Field Rookie of the Year in March, finished his rookie campaign as he scored a 5th place finish in the pole vault at the All Division New England Championships with a first attempt clearance of an NE-10 leading 4.70m (15’5”).

Jones had a breakout season for the Greyhounds, as she set school records in the 100-meter hurdles, long jump, and high jump. She was also on school record 4x100-meters and 4x400-meters. 

American International's Leo Mayo and Stonehill's Karen Boen were recognized as the NE-10 Outdoor Track & Field Coaches of the Year. Both were recognized with the awards following the completion of the indoor season as well. 

Both led their respective programs to NE-10 Championships at the Conference's Outdoor Championships in May.

2016 Northeast-10 Conference Outdoor Track & Field Awards

Men's Track Athlete of the Year - Leakey Kipkosgei, American International^
Women's Track Athlete of the Year - Carly Muscaro, Merrimack^*

Men's Field Athlete of the Year - Tresley Dupont, Southern Connecticut 
Women's Field Athlete of the Year - Destiney Coward, Southern Connecticut^ 

Men's Track Rookie of the Year - Chad Miller, American International
Women's Track Rookie of the Year - Olivia Dexter, Stonehill 

Men's Field Rookie of the Year - Jack Brown, Southern Connecticut^
Women's Field Rookie of the Year - Abby Jones, Assumption

Men's Coach of the Year - Leo Mayo, American International^ 
Women's Coach of the Year - Karen Boen, Stonehill^ 

^ - Won indoor award earlier this year
* - Won award in 2015

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.