24 NE10 Student-Athletes to Compete at NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships

24 NE10 Student-Athletes to Compete at NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships



OFFICIAL NCAA SITE (Schedule / List Of Competitors / Seed Times)

MANSFIELD, Mass. -  24 student-athletes representing nine Northeast-10 Conference Men's and Women's Track and Field programs have qualified to compete in the upcoming NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships. 

The NCAA Championships will be hosted by the University of Alabama in Huntsville and the City of Birmingham on March 9-11 at the Birmingham CrossPlex in Birmingham, Ala.

The complete list of NE10 qualifiers and the event(s) each will be competing in is listed below. Seven student-athletes will be competing in multiple events.

The American International Men's team and the Southern Connecticut Women's team will each be sending five competitors to the championships.

Merrimack's Carly Muscaro, pictured, will be competing in three events at the Championships. She'll be looking to defend her indoor national title in the 400 meter dash where she is the top seed, and the senior is also the top seed in the 200 meter event. She's also a part of Merrimack's 4x400 relay team that will be competing.

Franklin Pierce's Dage Minors heads to Alabama with the top time in the 800 meters. He punched his ticket to the NCAA's early in the season, as he posted a time of 1:48.70 on January 28 at the John Thomas Terrier Invitational, hosted by Boston University. The time is the fastest in the country so far this winter, and ranks fifth all time in Division II history. 

NE10 Men's Indoor Track & Field Qualifiers
Serge Gilbert, AIC, 60 Meter Hurdles
Kemani Hume, AIC, Distance Medley Relay 
Leakey Kipkosgei, AIC, 3000 Meters / Distance Medley Relay
Chad Miller, AIC, 400 Meters / Distance Medley Relay
Andre Rolim, AIC, Distance Medley Relay
Dage Minors, Franklin Pierce, 800 Meters
John Braga, Merrimack, Heptathlon / Long Jump
Yakabu Ibrahim, SCSU, 60 Meter Hurdles
Tikuan Johnson, SCSU, 200 Meters 

NE10 Women's Indoor Track & Field Qualifiers
Victoria Major, Adelphi, High Jump
Dana Bramble, AIC, Triple Jump
Olivia Downey, Merrimack, 4x400 Meter Relay
Carly Muscaro, Merrimack, 200 Meters / 400 Meters / 4x400 Meter Relay
Michaela Pernell, Merrimack, 60 Meters / 4x400 Meter Relay
Savanna Spencer, Merrimack, 4x400 Meter Relay
Adrianna Carrasco, SCSU, 4x400 Meter Relay
Destiney Coward, SCSU, Weight Throw
Georgette Nixon, SCSU, 4x400 Meter Relay 
Christine Volz, SCSU, 4x400 Meter Relay
Shatajah Wattely, SCSU, 400 Meters / 4x400 Meter Relay
Nicole Borofski, Stonehill, 1-Mile / Distance Medley Relay
Krista Fernandes, Stonehill, Distance Medley Relay
Anna Lastra, Stonehill, Distance Medley Relay
Aisha McAdams, Stonehill, Distance Medley Relay 

Student-Athletes listed in italics qualified to compete in multiple events

Additional information for this release provided by the athletic communications staff at Franklin Pierce.

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.