NE10 Announces Indoor Track & Field Major Award Winners

NE10 Announces Indoor Track & Field Major Award Winners



MANSFIELD, Mass. - The Northeast-10 Conference announced its Indoor Track & Field major individual award winners today. This year's award winners represent six different NE10 member institutions.

For a complete list of the award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below. Three of this winter's award winners were also tabbed for the award during the 2015-16 NE10 Indoor Track & Field Season.

Merrimack's Carly Muscaro was one of the repeat honorees as she was selected as the NE10 Women's Track Athlete of the Year after another outstanding campaign for the Warriors.  Muscaro won the NCAA national title in the 400 meters with an NCAA Division II record time of 51.78 and also claimed the 200 meter title with a new PR of 23.57.

She also anchored the 4x400 relay team that placed 4th at the National Championships. She scored the most points at the NCAA Championship and was recognized as the East Region Athlete of the Year as well as the USTFCCCA athlete of the year. Muscaro also broke the all-time New England Collegiate record in the 500 meters with a time of 1:09.05 which is the USA collegiate record.

Franklin Pierce's Dage Minors garnered Men's Track Athlete of the Year as he won four NE10 titles this indoor season: the 800 meters, and as the anchor leg for all three winning relay teams (Distance Medley Relay, 4x800, and the 4x400). He posted the top time in the nation in Division II in both the 800m (1:48.70) and 1000m (2:25.04). Minors was also named the East Region Track Athlete of the Year.

Southern Connecticut's Destiney Coward, pictured, was tabbed as the Women's Field Athlete of the Year for the second-straight season by the league's coaches. Coward was the NE10 champion in the Weight Throw and Shot Put, as well as the NEICAAA Champion in the Weight Throw. At the NCAA Indoor Championships, she placed 4th in the Weight Throw with a personal-best and new school record of 19.99 meters.

Merrimack's John Braga earned the award on the men's side.  Braga recently competed at the NCAA Indoor Championship, and was seeded 3rd in the heptathlon with a new school record and automatic qualifying mark of 5,343 points. He also qualified in the long jump as the 12th seed. At the NE10 Championship in February, Braga won the long jump, placed third in the pole vault, second in the high jump, and seventh in hurdles. He was recently named the East Region field athlete of the year. 

Stonehill's Anna Lastra earned the nod as the NE10 Women's Track Rookie of the Year, while Assumption's Justin Ireland was tabbed as the Men's Track Rookie of the Year.

Lastra was a four-time NE10 Rookie of the Week selection, and placed second in both the mile and the 1000 meters at the NE10 Championship. She was also a part of the winning 4 x 800 meter relay team.  

Assumption's Ireland won conference rookie of the week honors six times this year.  He broke school records in the 60 meters and 200 meter events.  He placed 4th at the conference meet in both events. He scored more points than any freshman in the conference championship meet including as a member of the 4x400 meter relay team.

Adelphi's Victoria Major earned the Women's Field Rookie of the Year, while Assumption's Kevin Hack was tabbed for the award on the men's side.

Major was recently crowned the NE10 Champion in the high jump as a true freshman. She was also the top ranked high jumper in the East Region.  She was an NCAA qualifier and finished as top freshman at the recently-completed NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships, where she was named a 2nd Team All American.

Kevin Hack won the high jump at the NE10 Championship meet, and is currently the school record holder in both the high jump and pentathlon. He was the only freshman to win an event at the conference championship. 

Stonehill's Karen Boen and Southern Connecticut's John Wallin were recognized as the NE10 Outdoor Track & Field Coaches of the Year. Boen was selected by her peers last year as well. Both coaches led their respective programs to NE10 Championships at the NE10 Indoor Championships in February.

2016-17 NE10 Indoor Track & Field Awards
Men's Track Athlete of the Year
- Dage Minors, Franklin Pierce
Women's Track Athlete of the Year - Carly Muscaro, Merrimack^

Men's Field Athlete of the Year - Johnny Braga, Merrimack
Women's Field Athlete of the Year - Destiney Coward, Southern Connecticut^

Men's Rookie Track Athlete of the Year - Justin Ireland, Assumption
Women's Rookie Track Athlete of the Year - Anna Lastra, Stonehill

Men's Rookie Field Athlete of the Year - Kevin Hack, Assumption
Women's Rookie Field Athlete of the Year - Victoria Major, Adelphi 

Men's Coach of the Year - John Wallin, Southern Connecticut
Women's Coach of the Year - Karen Boen, Stonehill^

^ - won the award during the 2015-16 Indoor Season

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.