Embrace The Championship: SCSU Men, Stonehill Women Impress During First Day of NE10 Championships

Embrace The Championship: SCSU Men, Stonehill Women Impress During First Day of NE10 Championships



Championship Central
Complete Day One Results

Both Men's and Women's Defending Champions Take Lead Following Day One

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. - Both the Southern Connecticut Men's team and the Stonehill Women's team took a lead following Day One of competition at the 2018 Northeast-10 Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships at Smith College earlier today. The defending champions and pre-championship favorites impressed as the two-day event will culminate Sunday afternoon.

The Owls' men hold a 19.5-point lead over host American International, while the Skyhawks' women lead Southern Connecticut by 14 points. For a complete list of team scores, see below. Day Two begins Sunday morning at 10 a.m.

The Owls' men's team was led by Jack Brown, won the Pole Vault with a mark of 4.92 meters, while the Owls' Ruvens Exantus won the Long Jump with a leap of 6.98 meters. Turner Kelly, pictured, won the Weight Throw with a mark of 17.51 meters.

The Skyhawks' women's team was led by their Distance Medley relay team, which shattered the NE10 mark with a time of 11:57.71. Stonehill would take the top three spots in the Pole Vault as Alison Tobin led the trio by clearing 3.47 meters Saturday afternoon. 

In total, 20 NCAA Provisional marks were hit during Day One of thius year's championships. Southern Connecticut's Destiney Coward posted the lone NCAA Automatic Qualifying mark in the Weight Throw with her toss of 20.25 meters.

NE10 Men's Indoor Track & Field Standings
1. Southern Connecticut - 64
2. American International - 45.5
3. Stonehill - 32.5
4. Franklin Pierce - 13
5. Le Moyne - 11
6. Merrimack - 9
6. New Haven - 9
8. Assumption - 5
9. Adelphi - 4
10. Bentley - 2
11. Saint Rose - 0
NE10 Women's Indoor Track & Field Standings
1. Stonehill - 59
2. Southern Connecticut - 45
3. Assumption - 44
4. American International - 32
5. Adelphi - 14
6. Franklin Pierce - 8
6. Merrimack - 8
6. Saint Rose - 8
6. Bentley - 8
10. Le Moyne - 5
11. Southern New Hampshire - 2
12. New Haven - 1

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.