New Haven’s Aquillin Hayes Earns NE-10 Player of the Year; Women’s Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced

New Haven’s Aquillin Hayes Earns NE-10 Player of the Year; Women’s Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced


Feb. 26, 2015

Hayes Tabbed as NE-10 Player and Defensive Player of the Year

MANSFIELD, Mass. – New Haven's Aquillin Hayes has been named the Northeast-10 Conference Women's Basketball Player of the Year, as the league office released all-conference teams and major awards on Thursday.

Hayes is second in the conference in scoring, averaging 18 points per game, and is fifth in rebounding (9.4 per game) while shooting over 51 percent from the floor and dishing out 2.3 assists per contest.

A native of Harlem, N.Y., Hayes was also named NE-10 Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. The senior guard has averaged 1.4 steals and 1.3 blocks this season, leading the Chargers to a No. 2 seed in the Northeast-10 Championship.

Stonehill's Trisha Brown was selected as NE-10 Coach of the Year after leading the Skyhawks to the Northeast Division title and a No. 1 seed in the NE-10 Championship. This marks the third time Brown has been the conference's coach of the year, doing so in 2008 and 2013 as well.

Joining Hayes as a unanimous selection on the all-conference first team was Stonehill senior forward Tori Faieta, a first-team selection for the second year in a row. A product of Lynn, Mass., Faieta is averaging 15.3 points and 10.3 rebounds per game, good for second in the NE-10.

Adelphi's Kelly Mannix (16.5 ppg, 8.5 rpg), Bentley's Jen Gemma (19.5 ppg, 10.2 rpg), Franklin Pierce's Kara Charette (17.6 ppg, 6.6 rpg) and Le Moyne's Alex Marple (16.8 ppg) also landed on the all-conference first team.

Stonehill got its third award winner in Sam Hyslip, who was tabbed as the NE-10 Rookie of the Year. Hyslip averages 6.9 points on 48.8 percent shooting and is second on the team with 5.1 rebounds per game.

Adelphi, the Southwest Division champion, and Stonehill both led the way with four all-conference selections apiece. The 2015 NE-10 Championship begins on Friday.

2015 Northeast-10 All-Conference First Team
Kelly Mannix, Adelphi (Sr., G, Barrington, R.I.)
Jen Gemma, Bentley (So., F, Milton, Mass.)
Kara Charette, Franklin Pierce (Jr., F, Fairhaven, Mass.)
Alex Marple, Le Moyne (Sr., G, Covington, Pa.)
Aquillin Hayes, New Haven* (Sr., G, Harlem, N.Y.)
Tori Faieta, Stonehill* (Sr., F, Lynn, Mass.)

2015 Northeast-10 All-Conference Second Team
Anh-Dao Tran, Adelphi (Gr., G, Webster, Mass.)
Krista Ferrentino, American International (Sr., F, East Longmeadow, Mass.)
Candace Andrews, Saint Anselm (So., G, Boston, Mass.)
Makenzie Burud, Saint Michael's (Jr., G, Red Hook, N.Y.)
Jackie Beathea, Southern Connecticut (Jr., F, Annandale, Va.)

2015 Northeast-10 All-Conference Third Team
Calli Balfour, Adelphi (So., F, Hopewell Junction, N.Y.)
Vandell Andrade, Le Moyne (Jr., G, Cranston, R.I.)
Chloe Rothman, Merrimack (Sr., G, Newton, Mass.)
Amy Pelletier, Stonehill (Sr., G, Beverly, Mass.)
Kelly Martin, Stonehill So., G, Scituate, Mass.)

2015 Northeast-10 All-Conference Honorable Mention Team
Kelly Conley, Assumption (Jr., G, Ellington, Conn.)
Caitlin Ackerman, Assumption (Sr., F, Nashua, N.H.)
Jessica Hurd, Franklin Pierce (Gr., F, Kegworth, England)
Briana Bradford, New Haven (Jr., G, Waterbury, Conn.)
Bria Moore, New Haven (Sr., G/F, West Haven, Conn.)

2015 Northeast-10 All-Rookie Team
Sierra Clark, Adelphi (So., F, Hughesville, Md.)
Lauren Green, Bentley (Fr., G, Damascus, Md.)
Gabriella Rubin, Pace (Fr., G, Staten Island, N.Y.)
Ali Glennon, Saint Anselm (Fr., G, Bedford, N.H.)
Catherine Stinson, Southern New Hampshire (Fr., G, Lynn, Mass.)
Sam Hyslip, Stonehill (Fr., F, Westford, Mass.)

*unanimous selection

Player of the Year: Aquillin Hayes, New Haven
Rookie of the Year: Sam Hyslip, Stonehill
Defensive Player of the Year: Aquillin Hayes, New Haven
Coach of the Year: Trisha Brown, Stonehill

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.