Falcons, Yellow Jackets Collect Top Seeds in NE-10 Women’s Basketball Championship

Falcons, Yellow Jackets Collect Top Seeds in NE-10 Women’s Basketball Championship


February 23, 2016

NE-10 Championship Play Begins Friday


MANSFIELD, Mass. – The Bentley Falcons and American International Yellow Jackets have earned the top seeds in the 2016 Northeast-10 Women's Basketball Championship, it was announced by the conference office on Tuesday night.

Bentley won the Northeast Division title after going 22-5 overall and 16-5 in NE-10 play this season just one season after missing out on the conference tournament. The Falcons earn a first-round bye and will host the winner of Friday night's opening-round contest between No. 4 SW Le Moyne (10-10 NE-10) and No. 5 NE Stonehill (9-12 NE-10).

American International cruised to the Southwest Division crown after posting a 23-4 overall record and 16-4 mark in conference play this season. The reigning NE-10 Championship runner-up Yellow Jackets also earn a bye into the quarterfinals and will host the winner of the other first-round matchup between No. 4 NE Franklin Pierce (11-10 NE-10) and No. 5 SW Adelphi (10-10 NE-10).

Saint Anselm (14-7 NE-10) collected the No. 2 seed in the Northeast Division and will host the third seed out of the Southwest, New Haven (10-10 NE-10), in the quarterfinals on Sunday. Southern Connecticut (11-9 NE-10) garnered the second seed in the Southwest and will play host to the Northeast Division's third seed, Assumption (11-10 NE-10), in Sunday's quarterfinals.

The semifinal round will take place on Thursday, March 3, with higher seeds hosting. The 2016 Northeast-10 Championship Game will be played on Sunday, March 6, and will be hosted by the highest remaining seed. Game times will be finalized on Wednesday.

The conference office will also release its major award winners and All-Conference selections on Friday, Feb. 26. Be sure to follow the Northeast-10 on Twitter (@TheNortheast10) for all the latest news and updates.

Northeast Division
1. Bentley (16-5 NE-10)
2. Saint Anselm (14-7)
3. Assumption (11-10)
4. Franklin Pierce (11-10)
5. Stonehill (9-12) 

Southwest Division
1. American International (16-4 NE-10)
2. Southern Connecticut (11-9)
3. New Haven (10-10)
4. Le Moyne (10-10)
5. Adelphi (10-10) 

First Round ­ Friday, February 26th
Game 1:  #5 SW Adelphi at #4 NE Franklin Pierce (7 p.m.)
Game 2:  #5 NE Stonehill at #4 SW Le Moyne (5:30 p.m.)

Quarterfinals ­ Sunday, February 28th
Game 3:  Game 1 winner at #1 SW American Int'l (3 p.m.)
Game 4:  Game 2 winner at #1 NE Bentley (2 p.m.)
Game 5:  #3 NE Assumption at #2 SW So. Connecticut (2 p.m.)
Game 6:  #3 SW New Haven at #2 NE Saint Anselm (2 p.m.)

Semifinals ­ Thursday, March 3rd (at highest remaining seeds)
Game 7:  Game 6 winner vs. Game 3 winner (7 p.m.)
Game 8:  Game 5 winner vs. Game 4 winner (7 p.m.) 

Championship ­ Sunday, March 6th (at highest remaining seed)
Game 9:  Game 8 winner vs. Game 7 winner (1 p.m.) 

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.