Bentley's Gemma Repeats as Player of the Year; NE10 Announces All-Conference Teams, Major Awards

Bentley's Gemma Repeats as Player of the Year; NE10 Announces All-Conference Teams, Major Awards



NE10 Unveils All-Conference Teams, Award Winners

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Bentley senior forward Jen Gemma has been named the Northeast-10 Player of the Year for the second straight season, as the conference released its women’s basketball all-conference teams and major award winners on Friday.

For a complete list of all-conference members, all-rookie selections and individual award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Gemma, a first team all-conference selection for the third straight season, helped lead the Falcons to a 24-4 regular season including a 20-1 mark in NE10 play. The senior led the league in offensive rebounds with 113, finished fourth in points per game (18.8) and fith in rebounding (8.8 per game).

During the season, Gemma became just the fourth woman in NE10 history to score more than 2,000 points and pull down 1,000 rebounds in her career. She is currently sixth in league history with 2,065 career points and has a chance to become the top-scoring player in the decorated history of the Bentley program.

Joining Gemma on the NE10 First Team were a pair of Adelphi forwards: Calli Balfour and Sierra Clark, as well as American International's Dana Watts, Saint Anselm's Candace Andrews, and Southern Connecticut's Taylor McLaughlin. Andrews was named to the team for the second consecutive season.

Le Moyne floor general McKayla Roberts was honored as the league's Rookie of the Year. The North Syracuse, N.Y. product led the Dolphins in scoring and finished second in the NE10 in assists (141) and assists per game (5.4). Roberts averaged 11.3 points per contest and her 1.8 assist-to-turnover ratio is second-best in the conference. She was also named a Third Team All-Conference selection.

Saint Anselm guard Candace Andrews was voted the 2016-17 NE10 Defensive Player of the Year. The senior led the NE10 with 92 steals and led a defense that was in the top half of the league statistically in virtually every category including only allowing 60.0 points per game. Andrews also led the league with 158 assists, and was named a First Team selection for the second consecutive season. 

Bentley's legendary Barbara Stevens was selected as the NE10 Coach of the Year by her peers. Stevens has now been selected for the award for the 15th time in her career, more than any other coach in any sport in the 38-year-history of the league.

The Hall of Fame coach led her team to the Northeast Division title and a 24-4 regular season in 2016-17. She had three student-athletes honored as Jen Gemma was named Player of the Year and Lauren Green and Macchi Smith were Second Team All Conference selections. 

13 programs had at least one student-athlete named to an All-Conference team, while Bentley had the most with three.

Player of the Year - Jen Gemma, Bentley
Rookie of the Year - McKayla Roberts, Le Moyne
Defensive Player of the Year - Candace Andrews, Saint Anselm
Coach of the Year - Barbara Stevens, Bentley

2017 NE10 Women’s Basketball All-Conference

First Team 
Calli Balfour, Adelphi
Sierra Clark, Adelphi+
Dana Watts, American International~
Jen Gemma, Bentley>^
Candace Andrews, Saint Anselm>%
Taylor McLaughlin, Southern Connecticut

Second Team
Imani Stepney, American International
Jo Impellizeri, Assumption
Lauren Green, Bentley+
Macchi Smith, Bentley
Samantha Hyslip, Stonehill

Third Team
Allison Stoddard, Assumption!
McKayla Roberts, Le Moyne
Leah Spencer, Saint Michael's
Kylie Lorenzen, Southern New Hampshire~
Courtney Walsh, Stonehill

Honorable Mention
Joanna Dobrovsky, Le Moyne
My'Asia Alston, Merrimack
Staci Barrett, Saint Rose
Maria Weselyj, Southern Connecticut
Alexandra Monteleone, Pace

All-Rookie Team
Rashana Sideris, AIC
McKayla Roberts, Le Moyne
Denia Davis-Stewart, Merrimack
Jackie DelliSanti, Pace
Kelsey Shaw, Stonehill*

> - First Team Selection in 2016
+ - Third Team Selection in 2016
! - Honorable Mention Selection in 2016
~ - All-Rookie Team Selection in 2016
^ - First Team Selection in 2015
% - Second Team Selection in 2015
# - Third Team Selection in 2015
@ - Honorable Mention Selection in 2015
$ - All-Conference Selection in 2014 

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.