Stonehill's Kelly Martin Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Women's Basketball Year-End Awards

Stonehill's Kelly Martin Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Announces Women's Basketball Year-End Awards



Northeast Division Champion Skyhawks Have Three Recognized with Major Awards

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Stonehill senior Kelly Martin has been named the Northeast-10 Player of the Year as the conference released its women's basketball all-conference teams and major award winners Tuesday.

13 different NE10 programs had at least one student-athlete named to an All-Conference team, with Bentley leading the way with four. Stonehill had three, while Le Moyne, Merrimack, Saint Anselm, and Southern Connecticut each had two selected. For a complete list of the all-conference members, all-rookie selections and individual award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Martin is currently in the midst of an outstanding senior season at Stonehill. The do-everything leader of the Northeast Division champions currently is in the top 20 in numerous statistical categories. Her 15.8 points per game is fifth-best, while her 5.2 assists per game is second-best. Martin is also among the conference's leaders in assist-to-turnover ratio and rebounds per game. She becomes the seventh player in Skyhawks' program history to be named NE10 Player of the Year and the first since Alisha Collins was honored in 2006.

Joining Martin on the 2017-18 First Team was American International's Dana Watts, Bentley's Victoria Lux, Saint Anselm's Shannon Ryan, Southern Connecticut's Abby Hurlbert, Southern New Hampshire Kylie Lorenzen. Watts is the only student-athlete to repeat as an NE10 First Team selection.

Martin's teammate, Elizabeth Grip, was selected as the NE10's Defensive Player of the Year. The senior currently leads the league with 97 blocked shots and her 3.6 blocked shots per game is second-best. Grip helped lead the Skyhawks to the Semifinals of the NE10 Championship, as they'll host Le Moyne this Thursday night. She has backboned a defensive unit that is currently among the best in the NE10 in virtually all categories, including field goal percentage defense (first overall) and points per game allowed (third). 

Merrimack's Alyssa Casey was tabbed by the league's head coaches as the conference's Rookie of the Year. The freshman finished her first season for the Warriors second on the team in scoring, averaging 13.5 points per game. She also pulled down six rebounds per game, which ranked her in the top 20 in the league and her 39 made three-pointers also was among the league's leaders. Casey was named NE10 Rookie of the Week a remarkable eight times during her first season in North Andover. She was also named an Honorable Mention All-Conference selections, as well as a member of the NE10 All-Rookie team.

Stonehill's Trisha Brown was named NE10 Coach of the Year following a vote by her peers. It's the fourth time she's been recognized with this award throughout her distinguished career. Brown led her team to the Northeast Division title and a 24-2 regular season, including a 20-1 mark in NE10 play in 2017-18. Brown was honored following the 2015-16 season as well.

Four of Brown's student-athletes were honored, including Martin and Grip with major honors. Samantha Hyslip and Courtney Walsh were also named NE10 Second Team selections. 

Player of the Year - Kelly Martin, Stonehill
Rookie of the Year - Alyssa Casey, Merrimack
Defensive Player of the Year - Elizabeth Grip, Stonehill
Coach of the Year - Trisha Brown, Stonehill

2018 NE10 Women's Basketball All-Conference

First Team 
Dana Watts, AIC$~
Victoria Lux, Bentley
Shannon Ryan, Saint Anselm
Abby Hurlbert, Southern Connecticut 
Kylie Lorenzen, Southern New Hampshire#~ 
Kelly Martin, Stonehill

Second Team
Becca Musgrove, Bentley
McKayla Roberts, Le Moyne#^
Alexandria Kerr, New Haven
Samantha Hyslip, Stonehill%
Courtney Walsh, Stonehill#

Third Team
Simone Hobdy, Adelphi
Morgan O'Donnell, Assumption
Lauren Green, Bentley+%
Lindsay Werner, Merrimack
Alexandra Monteleone, Pace!

Honorable Mention
Macchi Smith, Bentley%
Nicole Riddick, Le Moyne
Alyssa Casey, Merrimack
Claire Putnam, Saint Anselm
Kiana Steinauer, Southern Connecticut

All-Rookie Team
Emily Miccile, Adelphi
Alyssa Casey, Merrimack
Mayson Kimball, Merrimack
Brie Pergola, New Haven
Lauren Schetter, Pace

$ - First Team selection in 2017
% - Second Team selection in 2017
# - Third Team Selection in 2017
! - Honorable Mention selection in 2017
^ - All-Rookie Team in 2017
> - First Team selection in 2016
+ - Third Team selection in 2016
~ - All-Rookie Team in 2016

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.