Back-To-Back-To-Back-To-Back: Adelphi Wins 4th Consecutive NE10 Women's Lacrosse Championship

Back-To-Back-To-Back-To-Back: Adelphi Wins 4th Consecutive NE10 Women's Lacrosse Championship



Two-Time NE10 Player of Year Jahelka Sets Program Goals Record in Win

SYRACUSE, N.Y. - For the second time in two days, a team from Adelphi was crowned Northeast- 10 Conference Champions, as the women's lacrosse team earned their fourth straight and seventh in program history after defeating Le Moyne 7-5, Sunday afternoon.

The victory avenged the Panthers lone regular season loss. In the win, Jacqueline Jahelka became the program's leader in career goals, surpassing Erica Devito's record (270), set in 2012. 

In a low scoring contest, Kole Pollock scored the Panthers (18-1) only hat trick of the afternoon, alongside winning one draw control and grabbing one ground ball. Jahelka netted two to become the program leader as Alison Johnson and Casey Zalewski each accounted for one tally.

On defense, Jen Graham, who was named the Tournament MVP caused a team-leading three turnovers. NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year, Le Moyne's Hannah George had her 18-game win streak snapped, despite collecting 10 saves on the afternoon. 

Le Moyne's Molly McGuane netted the first goal of the game less than five minutes into the opening half, but Pollock was quick to even the score with her first of the game just over a minute later. Adelphi netted two more, including a man-up goal from Zalewski to extend their lead but the Dolphins kept it close with a score of their own. A three-goal stretch ended the half with the #2 Panthers holding on to a four-goal lead at halftime. 

The home team came out of the break with three unanswered goals that put them right back in the contest, the latter two courtesy of free position attempts. The Brown and Gold attack was able to add one more before time expired, sealing the deal on their fourth straight NE10 title. Jahelka's final goal came from Kate Beier and allowed her to become the Panthers' career leader in goals with 271. 

2017 NE10 Women's Lacrosse All-Championship Team
Jen Graham, Adelphi
Jacqueline Jahelka, Adelphi
Kole Pollock, Adelphi
Nicole Delany, Le Moyne
Hannah George, Le Moyne
Courtney Duffy, New Haven
Michaela Brown, Stonehill

Most Valuable Player - Jen Graham, Adelphi

2017 NE10 Women's Lacrosse Championship

Wednesday, May 3rd      

Game 1: #1 Le Moyne 13, #8 Franklin Pierce 1
Game 2: #2 Adelphi 16, #7 Bentley 1
Game 3: #3 New Haven 13, #6 Assumption 5
Game 4: #4 Stonehill 16, #5 Pace 9 

Saturday, May 6th  

Semifinals (Final four at Le Moyne)
Game 5: #1 Le Moyne 11, #4 Stonehill 4
Game 6: #2 Adelphi 14, #3 New Haven 7

Sunday, May 7th   

Game 7: #2 Adelphi 7, #1 Le Moyne 5

Information for this release provided by the athletic communications staff at Adelphi.

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.