Embrace The Championship: Phins-Sanity! Le Moyne Knocks Off Archrival to Win NE10 Women's Lacrosse Championship

Embrace The Championship: Phins-Sanity! Le Moyne Knocks Off Archrival to Win NE10 Women's Lacrosse Championship



Tourney MVP George Helps Le Moyne Claim Second NE10 Title in Program History

GARDEN CITY N.Y. – Championship Most Valuable Player Hannah George made 12 saves to lead second-seeded Le Moyne to its second Northeast-10 Conference Championship with a 14-10 win over top-ranked and top-seeded Adelphi on Sunday afternoon at Motamed Field.

The Dolphins, who previously won the NE10 title in 2013 (also over Adelphi), earn their program record-tying 19th win of the season, matching last season's win total. Joining George on the all-championship team were sophomore midfielder Nicole Delany, who scored a game-high five goals, and senior defender Kelly Gaffney, who caused a game-high three turnovers.  

The Dolphins started the day's scoring with the first two goals. Freshman attacker Erin McMullen found the back of the net for the 44th time at the 28:02 mark off a feed from junior midfielder Monica Sanna. Just 65 seconds later, McMullen tallied an unassisted goal. Adelphi, which defeated the Dolphins in the past three NE10 title games and five of the previous seven years, answered with two goals in 57 seconds to knot the score at two. Allison Stackpole got the Panthers on the scoreboard with 26:14 left off a pass from NE10 Player of the Year Alison Johnson. Christina Ferrara then tied the score with her 21st goal of the year off a feed from Johnson.

Delany gave the team the lead for good by converting a free-position shot with 21:18 left. Just over two minutes later, sophomore attacker Sidney Hall scored off a free-position shot of her own for her 47th goal of the season and a 4-2 advantage. Delany then scored 42 seconds later after collecting a feed from Hall. Sanna made it 6-2 with 15:57 left in the half off a free-position shot. Junior attacker Bryanna Fazio extended the lead to 7-2 with 14:47 to go with her 60th goal of the campaign after taking a pass from McMullen. Delany capped the streak with 13:47 remaining off a feed from Sanna.

The Panthers responded with three straight goals in a span of 50 seconds to cut their deficit in half. Kole Pollock started the run off a pass from Johnson just 57 seconds after Delany scored. Michele Scannell followed 41 seconds later with a free-position goal and Pollock capped the stretch another nine seconds later off a pass from Scannell, who won the draw control after her goal.

Fazio completed the scoring in the first half with 4:06 left after collecting a pass from McMullen. Sanna started the scoring in the second half with her 28th goal of the year at the 28:44 mark off a pass from Fazio. Adelphi trimmed its deficit to 10-7 with the next two goals.Beth Ann Pierce made it 10-6 with 22:47 remaining with a free-position goal in an extra-player situation. Scannell followed with her 40th goal with 21:21 to play.

Delany pushed the margin back to four with a free-position goal with 19:40 left and Sanna followed with her 29th goal with a free-position goal in an extra-player situation with 17:26 remaining. The Panthers rattled off the next three goals to get within two for the final time. Pollock started the spurt with her NE10-leading 78th goal of the year off a pass from Johnson with 16:36 left. Pierce followed with a free-position goal with 10:48 to play and completed her team's scoring with another free-position goal with 8:59 left.

The Dolphins scored the final two goals to secure their second NE10 title. Fazio tallied her 62nd goal of the campaign with 4:25 remaining off a feed from Hall. The goal gives Fazio 84 points on the year, the seventh-most in a season in the program's history, while it's her 62nd goal, tied for the fifth-most in a season. Delany capped the game's scoring with 2:48 left after receiving a pass from freshman attacker Emily Altland

George made two saves in the final 30 seconds to close out her program record-tying 19th win of the season. George has registered at least 12 saves in three of the last four games. 

2018 NE10 Women's Lacrosse All-Championship Team
Christina Ferrara, Adelphi
Michele Scannell, Adelphi
Nicole Delany, Le Moyne
Kelly Gaffney, Le Moyne
Hannah George, Le Moyne
Lauren Trepaney, Merrimack (not pictured)
Casey Gelderman, Pace (not pictured)

2018 NE10 Women's Lacrosse Championship Schedule

Wednesday, May 2nd       
Quarterfinals ­
Game 1: #1 Adelphi 21, #8 Assumption 10 
Game 2: #2 Le Moyne 18, #7 Saint Anselm 1
Game 3: #3 Pace 18, #6 Bentley 10 
Game 4: #4 Merrimack 14, #5 New Haven 10 

Saturday, May 5th  
Semifinals (Final four at Adelphi)
Game 5: #1 Adelphi 17, #4 Merrimack 6
Game 6: #2 Le Moyne 17, #3 Pace 11 

Sunday, May 6th    
Championship ­ 
Game 7: #2 Le Moyne 14, #1 Adelphi 10

- Information for this release provided by the athletic communications staff at Le Moyne 

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.