Adelphi's Rebecca Fakas Named Player of the Year as NE10 Reveals Women’s Tennis All-Conference Teams and Awards

Adelphi's Rebecca Fakas Named Player of the Year as NE10 Reveals Women’s Tennis All-Conference Teams and Awards



2017 NE10 Women's Tennis Awards Released

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Adelphi's Rebecca Fakas has been named the 2017 Northeast-10 Conference Vern Cox Women's Tennis Player of the Year, it was announced on Wednesday as the league office released its all-conference teams and major award winners.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, please see below.

Fakas, the first team all-conference selection at No. 1 singles, posted an 11-1 mark in NE10 play at the top of the lineup for the Panthers this season, guiding her squad to a 11-1 record in conference play and the No. 2 seed in the NE10 Championship. She also earned second team all-conference honors at No. 1 doubles.

New Haven's Stephanie Gonzalez was named the 2017 NE10 Women's Tennis Rookie of the Year as voted on by conference's head coaches. Gonzalez played at the top of the Chargers' lineup in both singes and doubles and helped lead the Chargers to a 5-7 mark in conference action. The freshman posted a 6-6 mark at No. 1 singles and was 5-7 at No. 1 doubles for New Haven and was also named to the conference's All-Rookie team.

Stonehill's Marc Maloney was named the NE10 Coach of the Year by his peers. Maloney led the Skyhawks to the 2017 Regular Season title as they compiled a perfect 12-0 mark in NE10 play.  It's the first time he's been recognized with this award in his third years as the head coach at Stonehill. 

Stonehill's Alexandra Vo was the lone NE10 student-athlete to earn first team at two positions as she earned the awards at both No. 2 singles and No. 2 doubles. It's the second straight season the former NE10 Rookie of the Year has earned first team singles accolades. 

Stonehill led the way with seven student-athletes honored in total, including six that were first team selections, while Adelphi was second with six student-athletes recognized. The NE10 Player of the Year award is named in honor of former longtime Springfield College head coach Vern Cox.

All-Conference selections are based on record at a given flight, and a minimum number of matches that must be played in order to be eligible.


Vern Cox Player of the Year: Rebecca Fakas, Adelphi
Rookie of the Year: Stephanie Gonzalez, New Haven
Coach of the Year: Marc Maloney, Stonehill

2017 NE10 Women's Tennis All-Conference 

First Team
No. 1 Singles – Rebecca Fakas, Adelphi
No. 2 Singles – Alexandra Vo, Stonehill*
No. 3 Singles – Isabelle Porter, Stonehill
No. 4 Singles – Samantha Perri, Adelphi*
No. 5 Singles – Marta Nunez, Le Moyne
No. 6 Singles – Emma Prinos, Stonehill*

No. 1 Doubles – Anna Sala / Sofia Morais, Southern New Hampshire
No. 2 Doubles – Alexandra Vo / Annelise Howick, Stonehill
No. 3 Doubles – Colleen O'Donnell / Bethany Hammond, Stonehill

Second Team
No. 1 Singles – Anna Sala, Southern New Hampshire
No. 2 Singles – Elizabeth Kallenberg, Adelphi
No. 3 Singles – Nicole Kielan, Adelphi
No. 4 Singles – Casey Burns, Southern New Hampshire
No. 5 Singles - Colleen O'Donnell, Stonehill
No. 6 Singles – Camille Latoni, Assumption^

No. 1 Doubles – Rebecca Fakas / Karen Serina, Adelphi*
No. 2 Doubles – Elizabeth Kallenberg / Samantha Perri, Adelphi     
No. 3 Doubles – Camille Latoni / Veronica Op, Assumption

Third Team
No. 1 Singles – Jess Perkins, Saint Anselm*
No. 2 Singles – Julia Chappell, Assumption
No. 3 Singles – Evann Welty, Bentley      
No. 4 Singles – Nicole Downey, Stonehill
No. 5 Singles – Rachel Wagner, Southern New Hampshire^ 
No. 6 Singles – Lindsay Baum, Southern New Hampshire^

No. 1 Doubles – Cassie Burbine / Julia Chappell, Assumption 
No. 2 Doubles – Kaitlyn Poje / Casey Burns, Southern New Hampshire      
No. 3 Doubles – Nicole Kielan / Vanja Savic, Adelphi

All-Rookie Team
Nicole Kielan, Adelphi
Meritxell Jimeno-Vicente, American International
Julia Chappell, Assumption
Evann Welty, Bentley
Cassandra Restrepo, Merrimack
Stephanie Gonzalez, New Haven
Isabelle Porter, Stonehill

* Earned All-Conference at same position in 2016
^ Earned All-Conference laurels in 2016

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.