Southern Connecticut's Jadus Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Hands Out Awards, Names All-Conference Teams

Southern Connecticut's Jadus Named NE10 Player of the Year as League Hands Out Awards, Names All-Conference Teams



MANSFIELD, Mass. – Southern Connecticut's Leanna Jadus was selected as the Northeast-10 Conference Volleyball Player of the Year, as the league released its 2017 all-conference teams and major award winners today. Jadus helped the Owls to a 21-win regular season, and the Semifinals of the NE10 Championship, which take place later tonight. 

Regular season champion and championship-weekend host New Haven led the way with four student-athletes named All-Conference, including two first team selections. American International and Saint Anselm each had three tabbed, while Bentley, Le Moyne, Pace, and Southern Connecticut each had two student-athletes honored.

For a complete list of all-conference members and award winners, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, please see below.

Jadus was the headliner of the NE10 major award winners that included: Mercy Rivera of American International (Libero of the Year), and a trio of Chargers: Kristine Rios (Setter of the Year), Kali Greathead (Rookie of the Year), and Robin Salters (Coach of the Year).

Jadus was among the conference's leaders in a number of offensive categories for the Owls. The junior from California led the NE10 in overall points (475.5), was second in kills (406), and was third in both kills per set (3.63) and aces (47). The three-time NE10 Player of the Week was also named a First Team All-Conference selection. 

AIC's Rivera repeated as the conference's Libero of the Year as she had another outstanding season in helping lead the Yellow Jackets to a runner-up finish in conference play. She led the NE10 in digs with 653 on the season, and was second in digs per set with 5.40. Rivera also was among the league's best with 38 aces and was also named to the conference's First Team.

New Haven's Rios was one of three Chargers to be selected for major awards as they completed the NE10 portion of their schedule undefeated in 2017 (14-0). The junior recorded her fourth triple double of the season in New Haven's Quarterfinal Round win on Tuesday against Pace, and is among the conference's best with 711 assists handed out so far this season.  Rios was also tabbed a First Team All-Conference selection by the league's head coaches.

Rios's teammate Kali Greathead was named the conference's Rookie of the Year following an outstanding first season in the NE10. The freshman from California was among the top 20 in the NE10 in kills digs, and points and helped the Chargers advance to the semifinals with an outstanding performance in Tuesday's win over Pace as she registered 20 kills in the win. The six-time rookie of the week during the season was also named to the conference's Second Team and was a unanimous addition to the league's All-Rookie Team.

Legendary head coach Robin Salters was tabbed the NE10 Coach of the Year by her peers. Salters led the Chargers to a perfect NE10 regular season and the top seed in this year's Championship. By virtue of their win on Tuesday, Salters' Chargers will host this weekend's Semifinals and Finals. Salters had four of her players named All-Conference selections and an NCAA bid is a virtual lock when the field is announced on Monday night.



2017 NE10 Volleyball All-Conference
First Team
Jana Potic, RSH, American International^$
Mercy Rivera, L, American International*
Dani Milner, RSH, Bentley$
Caroline Martins, OH, New Haven
Kristine Rios, S, New Haven%
Alyssa Gage, MH, Southern Connecticut
Leanna Jadus, OH, Southern Connecticut

Second Team
Dolores Kopren, S, American International*
Rachel Bruno, MH, Bentley$
Kali Greathead, OH, New Haven
Jewel Hays, S, Saint Anselm^
Katy Teets, OH, Saint Anselm
Marisa Coronis, OH, Southern New Hampshire
Kat DeLanty, MH, Stonehill

Third Team  
Madison Canestrari, MH, Adelphi
Jessica Miller, RSH, Le Moyne*
Mikayla Porr, L, Le Moyne^
Alex Bussey, MH, New Haven%
Claudia Fontanet, OH, Pace*
Danielle Vaiano, L, Pace^$
Madison Sollows, MH, Saint Anselm%$

All-Rookie Team
Victoria Cast, RS / OH, Adelphi
Victoria Perini, MB, American International
Kirsten Segaline, OH, Bentley@
Kali Greathead,OH,  New Haven@
Holly Manchester, MB, Saint Anselm
Kirstin Colwell, MH, Southern Connecticut
Jessica Givens, S, Stonehill

* - First Team in 2016
^ - Second Team in 2016
% - Third Team in 2016
$ - All-Rookie Team in 2016
@ - Unanimous Selection 

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.