AIC's Kipkosgei and Stonehill's Knox Lead the Way as NE10 Names Cross Country Major Awards and All-Conference Teams

AIC's Kipkosgei and Stonehill's Knox Lead the Way as NE10 Names Cross Country Major Awards and All-Conference Teams



AIC's Kipkosgei Repeats as NE10 Men's Athlete of the Year

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference recognized its cross country all-conference teams and major award winners today. American International's Leakey Kipkosgei repeated as the NE10 Men's Athlete of the Year, while Stonehill's Emily Knox was selected as the Women's Athlete of the Year.

For a complete list of the all-conference selections, please see below. These are based on the student-athletes' performance at the NE10 Championships, which took place earlier this month. The league's head coaches vote to decide the conference's major award winners.

Kipkosgei, who took home the individual title at this month's NE10 Championships, wins the award for the second consecutive season. He posted wins at the Adelphi Invitational and at the New England Championships. He was also the top Division II runner in the competitive Gold Race at the Paul Short Invitational with a time of 23:43 for 8K. He won the NE10 Championship individual title in a time of 24:38.67.

Stonehill's Knox was the winner at the NE10 on the women's side. Her time of 21:37.02 for the 6K race was more than 12 seconds faster than the second-place finisher at the event which took place at Stanley Park in western Massachusetts. Knox also posted runner-up finishes at both the Kutztown Division II Challenge and at the New England Championships during the season

Knox's teammate, Samanta Curtin was tabbed the NE10 Women's Rookie of the Year by the league's coaches. Curtin was the top freshman finisher at the Shacklette Invitational, the Kutztown Challenge, and at New Eglands. She finished in the top five finishers for Stonehill during each race that she appeared in and helped the Skyhawks defend their NE10 title at this year's conference championships as she finished 19th overall in the race.

AIC's Cameron Correia was selected as the Men's Rookie of the Year, following a successful firsy year for the Yellow Jackets. His best effort came at NE10's as he finished third overall, with a time of 25:20 for the 8K race. Consistently among the team's top runners throughout the season, Correia's time at the conference championship was the best of any rookie in the NE10 this fall.

Stonehill's legendary Karen Boen was selected by her peers as both the Men's and Women's NE10 Coach of the Year. Boen led each of her programs to titles at the recently-completed Conference Championships. Remarkably, these are coach of the year awards number 51 and 52 for Boen, who is currently in her 20th year as the head coach at Stonehill. 13 of Boen's student-athletes were honored as members of NE10 All-Conference teams, including four first team selections. 


Men's Athlete of the Year – Leakey Kipkosgei, American International
Women's Athlete of the Year – Emily Knox, Stonehill
Men's Rookie of the Year – Cameron Correia, American International
Women's Rookie of the Year – Samantha Curtin, Stonehill
Men's / Women's Coach of the Year – Karen Boen, Stonehill  

2017 NE10 Cross Country All-Conference
Men's - First Team
Leakey Kipkosgei, American International
Tyler McLaren, Southern New Hampshire
Cameron Correia, American International
Kemani Hume, American International
Alex Demeule, Stonehill
James Murphy, Stonehill
Siem Mehretu, American International 

Women's - First Team
Emily Knox, Stonehill
Antonia Pagliuca, Assumption
Makenzie Cyr, Stonehill
Courtney Fisher, Assumption
Nicole Maliborska, New Haven
Ivy Chepyegon, American International
Kialeigh Marston, Assumption 

Men's - Second Team
Larry Carney, Stonehill
Sean Beney, Le Moyne
Hugo Arlabosse, Franklin Pierce
Michael Grady, Adelphi
Ken Vinacco, Stonehill
Lucas Taxter, Stonehill
Graham Chapski, Bentley 

Women's - Second Team
Shannon Conley, Saint Anselm
Abby Hersom, Stonehill
Laura Morrison, Southern Connecticut
Megan Corbeil, Assumption
Sophia Anderle, Stonehill
Jill Couto, Southern New Hampshire
Alyssa Freeman, Stonehill 

Men's - Third Team
Jeff Reddy, Franklin Pierce
Niall Coughlin, Merrimack
Seamus Higgins, Bentley
Kevin Wheelock, Stonehill
Cedric Jocelyn, Southern New Hampshire
Cody Murphy, Bentley
Michael Moreno, Southern New Hampshire

Women's - Third Team
Paige Fehskens, Bentley
Nicole Julian, Adelphi
Charlotte Allen, Assumption
Eva Keohane, Le Moyne
Samantha Curtin, Stonehill
Julia Dempsey, Merrimack
Anna Lastra, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.